Tam Ferguson

Tam Ferguson

E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Saturday, 15 June 2019 00:00

Opening Night with Olga Kern

olga-kern-500Keith Lockhart leads the Brevard Music Center Orchestra in a performance of Bartok's virtuosic Concerto for Orchestra. Olga Kern plays one of Rachmaninoff's most famous works.




Barry-Douglas-300pxEnjoy both a terrific symphony orchestra and a top-notch chamber ensemble on this Carolina Live program.  The Greensboro Symphony plays two selections by Tchaikovsky, including the Piano Concerto No. 2 with guest pianist Barry Douglas. They then perform Beethoven’s Symphony No. 8 in F.  The highly-respected Broyhill Chamber Ensemble performs Haydn’s Trio in G and Robert Schumann’s Piano Quintet in E-flat.  It’s a strong combination of performers and compositions, so please join us.

Pictured: Barry Douglas; photo courtesy of IMG.

nakahara morihikoHere in the 21st century we have the privilege of admiring and enjoying music from the previous century. In this program the South Carolina Philharmonic lets you savor the delight of Ives and Schuman’s Variations on “America,” a stirring performance of Edward Elgar’s Cello Concerto in e-minor by Edward Aaron, and the Prelude to the Cello Suite No. 1 in G by Bach. The concert concludes with the dramatic Symphony No. 10 by Dmitri Shostakovich. These works would be classics in any century.

John Gordon RossIt’s a game you generally don’t want to play, but on this Carolina Live the Western Piedmont Symphony has a melodic kind of Russian Roulette for you. That’s the title of a concert that features a tribute to Mozart by Meira Warshauer, one of Beethoven’s most famous piano works, the Emperor Concerto, plus the emotion of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 in e-minor.  It’s a musical game you’re sure to win if for this edition of Carolina Live.



Tuesday, 23 April 2019 09:12

Kaia String Quartet: Returning Friends

Pictured: Kaia String QuartetTwo settings and two interesting groups of performers are featured on this edition of Carolina Live.

The Kaia String Quartet arrives from their base in Chicago to wow an audience at the Salt Block Auditorium in Hickory, NC, playing the String Quartet No. 8 in e-minor by Beethoven and Chicago-Lucerne by Amos Gillespie.

In Davidson, NC, mezzo-soprano Rebecca Robinson is joined by accompanist Wade Dingman and her musician parents, Mary Kay and Joseph Robinson, for a varied concert with music from Schubert, Gershwin, Bizet and more. It’s a pleasing potpourri on this week’s Carolina Live.

Dmitry SitkovetskyThere’s music from two exciting concerts by two terrific orchestras on this edition of the program.  The Greensboro Symphony offers Cinema Music, with selections from South Pacific, Schindler’s List, The Magnificent Seven, Psycho and much more.  Then the South Carolina Philharmonic dazzles with Samuel Barber’s Overture to The School for Scandal, George Gershwin’s Piano Concerto in F with guest pianist Gilles Vonsattel and The Mestizo Waltz by Gabriela Lena Frank.  It’s a truly dazzling collection of music from two fine orchestras!

Robert MoodyThe title of the concert you’ll hear on this program is Maestro’s Farewell. It’s the final concert of conductor Robert Moody with the Winston-Salem Symphony, and it’s a powerful way for the Maestro to bid adieu. There’s music from Richard Strauss’ opera Der Rosenkavalier, and the rest of the concert is filled with the Symphony No. 2 in c-minor by Gustav Mahler, his Resurrection symphony. Talented soloists and the Symphony Chorale join the orchestra is a memorable night of music.

Stephanie Foley photo credit James FarleyThe combined power of the Winston-Salem Symphony and the Symphony Chorale is heard and felt on this Carolina Live, as the musicians perform Karl Jenkins’ compelling The Armed Man: A Mass for Peace and Leonard Bernstein’s Symphony No. 1 (Jeremiah).  The latter, while certainly not as well-known as much of Bernstein’s other music, is a powerful work.  Please join us for this concert titled A Concert for Peace on Carolina Live.


<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>
Page 1 of 11