South Carolina Philharmonic: 20th Century Classics

nakahara morihikoHere in the 21st century we have the privilege of admiring and enjoying music from the previous century. In this program the South Carolina Philharmonic lets you savor the delight of Ives and Schuman’s Variations on “America,” a stirring performance of Edward Elgar’s Cello Concerto in e-minor by Edward Aaron, and the Prelude to the Cello Suite No. 1 in G by Bach. The concert concludes with the dramatic Symphony No. 10 by Dmitri Shostakovich. These works would be classics in any century.

South Carolina Philharmonic
Morihiko Nakahara, conductor

Charles Ives, orchestrated by William Schuman: Variations on "America"

Elgar: Cello Concerto in E-minor
Edward Aaron, cello

Bach: Prelude to the Cello Suite No. 1 in G
Edward Aaron, cello

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 in e-minor

Rossini: Overture to William Tell