Charlotte Symphony Orchestra: Classics Series VI

Charlotte-Symphony-Orchestra The Charlotte Symphony’s sixth Classics Series program for the 2012-2013 season paired a 19th century masterwork with one from the 20th century. Guest violin soloist Adele Anthony filled in at the last moment, but delivered a knockout performance in the Brahms concerto. The Shostakovich symphony from 1937, widely seen as a brilliant tightrope walk between Soviet appeasement and individual integrity, gets a searing performance under the direction of Christopher Warren-Green.


Listen to the entire program

Billboard and Introduction to Johannes Brahms’ Violin Concerto in D – Lauren Rico

JOHANNES BRAHMS: Violin Concerto in D
Charlotte Symphony Orchestra
Adele Anthony, violin
Christopher Warren-Green, conductor

Break and introduction to Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 in D minor – Lauren Rico & Mike McKay

DMITRI SHOSTOKAVICH: Symphony No. 5 in D minor
Charlotte Symphony Orchestra
Christopher Warren-Green, conductor

Introduction to Franz Joseph Hadyn’s Trio in G Major – Lauren Rico

The Broyhill Chamber Ensemble
Gil Morgenstern, artistic director

End of the show – Lauren Rico & Mike McKay