Carolina Classics 2010 June 15

This edition of Carolina Classics brings you a piano quartet from Mozart, Bach's Suite for solo cello, a sonata for violin and piano by Enescu, and Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 3.
Listen to the entire program:

“Nobody could write tunes like Mozart,” says Geoff Nuttall, introducing this piece at the Spoleto Festival USA’s Chamber Music Concerts in Charleston, S.C. From the beautifully restored historic Dock Street Theatre, you’ll hear it played in concert by violinist Daniel Philips, violist Barry Shiffman, cellist Alisa Weilerstein, and pianist Pedja Muzijevic.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Quartet in E-flat major, K. 493
Pedja Muzijevic, piano
Daniel Phillips, violin
Barry Shiffman, viola
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

Channeling gypsy instruments and styles, this challenging piece for violin and piano was composed in 1926. Violinist Livia Sohn and pianist Inon Barnatan play the piece as a part of the Chamber Music Concerts at the Spoleto Festival USA.

GEORGE ENESCU: Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3, Op. 25
Livia Sohn, violin
Inon Barnatan, piano

Described as playing with an intensity which gets her “lost in the music,” Filipino pianist Cecile Licad plays at Guilford College’s Dana Auditorium with the Eastern Music Festival Orchestra, conducted by Gerard Schwarz.

SERGEI RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
Cecile Licad, piano
Gerard Schwarz, conductor, Eastern Music Festival Orchestra

College of Charleston cellist Natalia Khoma plays the final two movements of the Bach cello suite at First Scots Presbyterian Church in Charleston, part of the Piccolo Spoleto Festival 2010.

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH: Suite for Solo Cello No. 1 in G, S. 1007
Natalia Khoma, cello